CMTDS Monday: Before the Throne by King’s Kaleidoscope

kings-kaleidoscope

This week for our Christian Music That Doesn’t Suck Monday, we are listening to Before the Throne” by King’s Kaleidoscope. 

Lyrics:

Before the throne of God above
I have a strong, a perfect plea
A great high Priest whose Name is Love
Who ever lives and pleads for me
My name is graven on His hands
My name is written on His heart
I know that while in heaven He stands
No tongue can bid me thence depart
No tongue can bid me thence depart

When Satan tempts me to despair
And tells me of the guilt within
Upward I look and see Him there
Who made an end to all my sin
Because the sinless Savior died
My sinful soul is counted free
For God the just is satisfied
To look on Him and pardon me
To look on Him and pardon me

Behold Him there the risen Lamb
My perfect spotless righteousness
The great unchangeable I am
The King of glory and of grace
One with Himself I cannot die
My soul is purchased by His blood
My life is hid with Christ on high
With Christ my Savior and my God!
With Christ my Savior and my God!

One with Himself I cannot die
My soul is purchased by His blood
My life is hid with Christ on high
With Christ my Savior and my God!
With Christ my Savior and my God!

Why it doesn’t suck:

King’s is one of my favorite bands (and will most definitely be back again soon) because they take weighty, rich songs and play them in such a refreshing, creative way. “Before the Throne” is an incredible song because of its emphasis on Christ’s vicarious work on the cross, justifying sinners like you and me. Everyone, no matter who you are, is aware that they are flawed and are in need of something to redeem them from their flaws.  “Before the Throne” reminds us that Christ is the one to whom we look for that redemption, and His redeeming work is so perfectly secure that we can stare down our guilt and shame with confidence.

My favorite line by far is: When satan tempts me to despair, and tells me of my guilt within, upward I look and see Him there, who made an end to all my sin. That’s solid gold. It reminds me of one of my favorite quotes from Martin Luther,

Therefore you will accomplish nothing, Satan, by trying to frighten me by setting the greatness of my sins before me and thus seducing me to sadness, doubt, despair, hatred, contempt, and blasphemy of God. Indeed, by calling me a sinner you are supplying me with weapons against yourself so that I can slay and destroy you with your own sword; for Christ died for sinners.Again, whenever you throw up to me that I am a sinner, you revive in my memory the blessing of Christ, my Redeemer, on whose shoulders, and not on mine, lie all my sins; for “the Lord hath laid on Him the iniquity of us all” and “for the transgression of His people was He stricken” (Is. 53:6-8). Therefore when you throw up to me that I am a sinner, you are not terrifying me; you are comforting me beyond measure.”

Leave a Reply

